The moral choices of being a parent that consumes cannabis, recreationally or medically.

I'm a father of 3 kids (age 8 to 14 now) and I've been smoking weed daily since I was 13 years old with very few hiatuses (now 43). My wife, which was a light weed smoker when I met her has since stopped completely after getting a job offer from the government and having to pass drug tests (and also maybe that 48 hour surprise edible trip we had in our early years, lol). She's now fairly anti-drugs, she tolerates my usage as long as it's when the kids aren't around and she doesn't have to smell it. If it were her choice, she'd have me stop smoking altogether. She's from a family of secrets-of-polichinelle and she never told her parents and had me deny I even ever used the stuff to preserve appearances, yet her parents aren't even anti-drug and well, she's having me shut up about it to them and the kids.

Out of respect, I simply keep my use a secret. My stuff is locked in a box, but I don't have a place to hide it, kids found it but can't access it so they have no idea what's in there. They never asked either. I smoke after all the kids are in bed, always outside.. It's alright, but it's limiting and annoying, especially when I come back from a hard day of work and really could use a joint to relax, gotta wait, gotta hide.